Radio: Drum'n'bass Show with Science Hki @ Basso Radio 13/12/2013

Science Hki dnb show from Friday the 13th of December.
No accidents or technical difficulties or bad luck, apart from needles jumping but that's life.

We also did a little special on a guy called Voyager who just had a release out on Tempo Records. And has a bunch other releases too, as he's been doing his thing since early 90's.

Anyway, hope you enjoy listening to the recording. We had fun in the studio. It's always fun to listen to music very loud and dance to it.


01 Voyager - Big Picture [Tempo Records]
02 Abstract Elements - Apathetic Dub (Martsman Remix) [Alphacut dub]
03 Thing - Blue Lines [Through Sounds]
04 Coleco - Focus 10 (Om Unit Remix) [Runtime]
05 Homemade Weapons - Coalesce [Samurai Music]
06 Hybris, Quadrant, D-Struct, Iris - Graphene [Dispatch]
07 Mako - What A Little Moonlight Can Do [Warm Communications]
08 Basement Jaxx - Fly Life (Roni Size “Flyz” Mix) [XL Recordings]
09 Jonny L - Change [Piranha]
10 The Prisoners Of Technology - The Boogie [Fresh Kutt]
11 Trisector & Creep - Hollow (Phuture-T Remix) [Alphacut dub]
12 Hybrid Minds & Mimi Page - Starlet [Spearhead Records]
13 Silence Groove - Wake Me Up [Offworld dub]
14 Seba & Krazy - Consciousness [Secret Operations]
15 Dominic Ridgway - Siren [Diffrent]
16 DJ Crystl - Meditation [Dee Jay]
17 Voyager - Hyper Sleep [R&S Records]
18 Breakneck - Arse In Gear [TCR]
19 Voyager - Beatnik [Good Looking Records]
20 Pete Voyager - Long White Cloud [Camino Blue]
21 Voyager - FAQ [Tempo Records]
22 Silence Groove - Switched In [Offworld]
23 Boards Of Canada - Nothing Is Real (Ticklish edit) [???]
24 Asterion - What You Need [Ground Mass Music]
25 Untold - Anaconda (Keiska’s mnml footwork edit) [???]
26 EAN - Enderman [Cosmic Bridge]
27 Cobalt - Ital Tek [Planet Mu]
28 Moresounds - Flocon [Astrophonica]
29 Traxman - Footworkin On Air [Planet Mu]
30 Coleco - Ambivalence (Adam Elemental Remix) [Runtime]
31 DJ Krust - Angles [V Recordings]

Fresh Releases: Coleco, Diffrent Music & Voyager

Coleco - Focus 10 EP [Runtime]

Runtime Records started as a dubstep label back in the day, and the label boss Elemental is actually one of my favourite artists in the genre. Recently Elemental has added Adam to his artist name, and has released music at 170 bpm on labels like Auxiliary and Samurai, and obviously on his own label too. Now the latest Runtime release is out, and it hits you at 160 beats per minute with two original tracks by Coleco, and remixes by Om Unit and the label boss himself.

The title track is a strange hybrid of deep "arabic" vibes and trap-like beats. I personally can't stand "eastern" sounds or trap music, but this tune is so rude that it simply works. Om Unit's remix of Focus 10 takes a bit more deeper approach. The tune builds nicely and my favourite spot is the breakdown around halfway through when the synth chords kick in for a bit. Awesome.

On the flipside, there's a track called Ambivalence, a hectic synth chord mayhem with footwork'ish beats (but without the 808). In the remix Adam Elemental replaces the beats with his signature sound chopped and twisted breakbeats. 160 is the new 140.

Focus 10 EP is out now on Vinyl and digital download. You can buy it from the labels Bandcamp page

V/A - Evolution Of Giraffe [Diffrent]

Label showcasing compilations have always caused a range of mixed feelings, from the late 90s monstrous 8 x LP boxed releases with the weirdest quickly thrown-together tunes to absolute classics that both shaped the future of dnb and offered the consumer more bang for ones buck. Today the 90s are long gone, physical releases are getting more and more exclusive and at the same time the amount digital releases keeps growing to the point you couldn't listen to them all even if it was your day job.

So in the current state of things, what does Diffrent Music?

They release a nifty eight track compilation, offer a quality sampler on vinyl, put some love into the CD release with two bonus tracks (ones that rock btw) and most importantly, follow the sound that they've built up their 20 release catalogue on.

The whole compilation is filled with all kinds of diffrent (pun!) headnodders, from the standard roller rhythm nods to really twisted neck tweakers. I love the amount of attention given to the rhythm section broadness, you really can't browse through thinking "but they all have the same pattern". The soundscapes are mostly techy with a couple warmer and more experimental sounding tunes, collectively quite stripped down percussions and enough room for the massive sub section.

Recommended as a whole package, I won't pick faves this time since I'm probably using a lot of them in diffrent (pun!) situations. The label is solid and doing their work with love, if the sounds feel like your cup then you have some following up to do.

(Oh and check the FB and their site for freebies!)

Evolution Of Giraffe is out now as a CD and digital download.

Voyager - FAQ [Tempo Records]

Voyager is one of those artists who have been doing music for as long as I remember. And now he's back with a quality release on Tempo Records.

The first track, "FAQ" features some frequently asked questions (no pun intended), accompanied with the kind of atmospheric soundscapes, rolling drums and intense basslines you might expect from the master of those things. This track really takes you back to the good old nineties!

The release then continues with "LuvBLoved", which goes to the same category with FAQ. It does go even deeper though with some heavy choppage. If I had to pick one of these to play for a full dance floor, this would be the one.

As a little extra, there's also a mellow downtempo/ambient track to end the single. "Big Picture" is a lovely piece of music and something I'd like to end or start my day with.

More of this please!

FAQ is out now as a digital download and on clear 12" vinyl later this month.

Words by Trisector, Axu & St. Laurent

Tonight: Drum'n'bass show with Science Hki on Basso Radio

Science Helsinki on Basso Radio, December 13th 2013

The last Science Helsinki show on Basso for the year 2013 is about to air tonight! We're prepared to play some dope beats as usual and we've also got an artist feature coming up. You can make some wild guesses from the picture above.

The show is airing at 22.00 as usual and in case nothing seriously bad happens (read: submarine tragedies, sudden medical conditions etc.) we're pleasing your musical need for two hours.

Tune in for the show tonight at 22.00 Finnish time. You can go to and click the big ass play-button in the middle of the screen, or tune in with these FM Frequencies:

Helsinki: 102,4 Mhz
Tampere: 103,1 Mhz
Turku: 101,9 Mhz
Jyväskylä: 99,7 Mhz
Oulu: 105,4 Mhz

Syndicate content